The University of Edinburgh Old College

The University of Edinburgh (UoE), founded in 1582, is the 6th oldest in the English-speaking world and boasts a long tradition of international collaborations and partnerships. It is a comprehensive research university with charity status founded in 1583 with approx. 41,000 students, 7,100 academics, 7,500 administrative and support staff. Its 3 Colleges and 20 Schools offer a variety of undergraduate, Masters, and doctoral programmes covering all fields of knowledge. The university is deeply embedded in the fabric of the city of Edinburgh, with many of the buildings in the historic Old Town belonging to the university and 7 campuses across the city.

With a decidedly international outlook, 40% of students at the University of Edinburgh are from outside of the UK, 30 different languages are taught there, and the university has over 400 live partnerships with institutions in more than 65 countries. It is a member of the Russell Group, Universitas 21, the Coimbra Group, UNICA, and LERU. Projects such as TICKET strengthen those partnerships and foster knowledge exchange and the sharing of best practice, in this case for staff training in intercultural competence.